We are Tom Riddle

meMy sister and I had a great laugh last night.

Back in high school my sister and I didn’t really have many friends beside each other (do you believe it?). I don’t think we meant to do this, but we ended up immortalizing or preserving ourselves in a couple notebooks like Tom Riddle did in a diary in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. We kept notebooks in which we wrote notes and passed to each other in the hallway between classes. When I think back on it, it’s pretty genius and pretty lame at the same time because we knew each other’s schedule, and where and when would be the best time to do a hand-off. Some of the notes were written during our separate lunch periods in which we always went to the library because we hated the cafeteria or didn’t have anyone to sit with. Others were written during class when we should’ve been taking notes.

Anyway, the content of these notes to each other were pretty much the same thing in different phrasing. I’m not sure we noticed it at the time, but reading them now, we realized how dumb and repetitive they were and it made us laugh so hard because these were the things that were important to us then. BOYS, complaining about annoying people, tests, sickness, extra curricular activities…

There was a time period in which we didn’t know the whereabouts of our first notebook, and during this time we wrote notes to each other on random pieces of paper. So many of those notes said “Do you know where our notebook is? It’s not in either of our lockers, and it’s not at home…” As documented in the notebook after it was found, it was gone for at least 3 weeks. It was returned to my sister by her Spanish teacher who assured her that no one had read it. But C’MON! We know that was a big lie. Some student had returned it to the teacher after reading everything. I’m sure they got a good laugh at it. I think our identities were obvious in the notebook, but it’s a good thing we had codenames for pretty much everyone we wrote about. It was actually a challenge for us to decode some of the people because we have nearly forgotten, or want to forget high school.

Man, I haven’t laughed that hard in such a long time. I actually started wheezing a little bit, and I thought I was going to get a sore throat from laughing. High school was such a joke. I’m glad we documented such mundane day-to-day experiences. Journals are such great things. I’m sure we’ll dig out the notebooks again in a few years and still laugh just as hard.

Leave a Reply

