Me, an Environmentalist?

Today was yet another beautiful day in Boston, but I barely got to enjoy it. I was suppose to meet someone this morning at 9 about a tutoring job, but I was feeling so sick I had to ask my sister to call and tell the woman I wouldn’t make it. I hope I don’t have the flu. I’ve got a show tomorrow.

Since the weather has been so nice I’ve been reading outside on my balcony. Today I finished reading Green Revolution: Coming Together to Care for Creation by Ben Lowe.

This was one of two books that I picked up at Urbana for $5 (the other being Following Jesus Through the Eye of the Needle: Living Fully, Loving Dangerously by Kent Annan.) It was a little slow in the beginning, probably because I wasn’t really that interested, and was afraid it was going to be a lot of hippie-granola talk, but as I got deeper into the book, I started to see how caring for the Earth now is a responsibility we (especially Christians) need to own up to. Now, this isn’t to say that I have been ignorant to issues tied to global climate change and that only now have my eyes been opened to the truth, (because it’s a really big pet-peeve when people are wasteful, e.g. not recycling, using more paper towels or electricity than needed, letting the water run, etc.) but I’m realizing it isn’t enough to just practice good conservationism on my own.

Lowe talks about various issues concerning the deterioration of this earth, but he always brings it back to how if we really consider ourselves as “little Christs,” then our actions need to measure up the the faith that we proclaim. We need to be good stewards of this Earth; taking care of creation was man’s first vocation after all. And if that command isn’t reason enough, a plethora of social justice issues can be traced back to human abuse of the land. Land = Power. People are always fighting for power, and more often than not, it ends up in the hands of a few malicious individuals, while the majority have to suffer the consequences.

It makes me sad that convenience and money rules our lives. Not to over-generalize, but most would choose whatever is faster and cheaper than to do things rights and sustainably. It’s easy when we are so far removed from the sources of our energy and food to continue on this path, but I want to point out that there is much more to this book than pointing out our faults. Lowe highlights many different grassroots movements and organizations that have been working for creation care for years, and different things that individuals are doing to minimize their carbon footprints. There is hope! But we need to act now!

One of the questions I had while reading the book was “Why should I care about taking care of the Earth if it’s just going to be destroyed in the end times?” I guess I never bothered to study Revelations closely enough, but I always thought the world would literally go up in flames at the end like how it’s always depicted in movies. But the language used is actually more poetic and refers to a refining fire that will renew and reconcile the world back to God. Yeah, a lot of questions about “going green” are addressed in chapter 8 titled “Molehills: Overcoming Obstacles to Growth.” That was just one that I had in particular.

I don’t know if I’ll actually do this, but I’ve considered doing laundry the old-fashioned way by investing in a washboard and concocting some kind of clothesline to dry them. It’ll definitely save energy by not using the dryer, but I wonder if it’ll actually save water and get my clothes clean, while also making sure the kind of detergent I could potentially use will be safe for dumping.

I don’t fly that much, but I do want to travel the world. Do they only fly planes that are mostly-filled or do they take-off without noting the number of passengers? I don’t want to be another reason for the depletion of the ozone layer, but if it’s the latter, then will it matter? (No rhyming intended).

Reading this book made me really interested in maybe going back to school to study environmental stuff (after I’m done with culinary). I don’t know if I’m “science-y” enough to endure it though. The sciences were never really my thing in high school, though I suppose I did “all right.” My friends in science majors are always complaining about labs and how they’re impossible. I don’t know, maybe it won’t be that bad if I’m actually interested in it…

Yeah, so if you haven’t gotten the point already, this book is worth picking up and checking out.

Okie doke. I should probably get some rest. I’m tired of breathing out of my mouth. I wish my nasal passages would just clear up! I’ll probably wake up with a sore throat and this continued headache. Heal me God!

Oh! Just found a video of Ben Lowe discussing his book. Video after the jump.

He has a funny accent. Anyone know what kind?

2 thoughts on “Me, an Environmentalist?

  1. When I studied abroad in Italy we did not have a dryer so we hung our clothes on a rack like this to dry: http://bit.ly/9eiX4h or out on the line.
    It was pretty easy to get used to and the clothes only took a day or two to dry (depending on the weather/humidity). It would actually be a pretty easy adjustment if it is something you’re really considering.

Leave a Reply

