I’m back!

Hello! I am back from about a six month hiatus, and I think I will use this as my primary blog from now on.

So, my summer break is about half over now. I can’t believe I’ve been home for so long. It’s actually been kind of stressful because I’ve had no luck getting a job this summer and my parents are constantly breathing down my back about being productive. May was full of job searching/applying and then TECBC at the end of the month. June was a bunch of hang out days with people here and there while waiting for Emily to graduate. Would have gone to Creation Fest except that Emily’s graduation was the day after the festival started. The end of June/beginning of July was the anticipation of Herman coming back to the States. There was a July 4th BBQ/Welcome Home party, then preparation for the summer retreat and the retreat itself which was… a lot of different things. (If you’re curious, ask me about it). I started ASL classes last week to brush up on what I know and hopefully learn some new things before going back to school. Besides all that, I’ve been hanging out with TeenLIGHT peeps and “helping” out at the store.

Today, I finally finished reading this book that my friend Jane gave to me for my birthday three years ago. It’s called Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott. It gave very good advice about writing and life, and I liked it for the most part, but sometimes it was annoying because of this sense of hippie ideas and New Age stuff even though I’m pretty sure she’s a Christian. Anyway, I feel really inspired to write now.

Summers are usually the time when I read a lot, but this summer I’ve hardly read at all. Books, that is. Need some nourishment for my brain!

I really wanted to road trip up to Arcadia National Park in Maine this summer and go camping for a few days, but with gas prices on the rise and people’s schedules all over the place, it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen. 😦 However, we (Joyce, Emily, and I) have been invited over to someone’s house in Jersey next week and we are going to take this opportunity to go camping… in their front yard. I don’t care if it looks ridiculous, I just want to go camping!

I kind of miss Boston.

One thought on “I’m back!

  1. Good to have you back, febie! =D I have you in my google reader. looking fwd to rdg the upcoming entries.
    and for a good summer read, might i suggest some old favorites?
    this present darkness, by frank peretti
    searching for god knows what, by donald miller
    any narnia or harry potter book (i just re-read #7)
    or any fantasy series by mercedes lackey. (i suggest starting with The Arrows of the Queen – links on my blog)
    =) have fun!

Leave a Reply

