Bite My Tongue…or…Come Right Out and Say It?

Just yesterday, while wasting time and not doing anything particularly productive, Bite My Tongue started playing on my shuffle list, and I had an epiphany. I’ve heard this song countless times and know all the lyrics, but it was never really one of my favorite. However, now, this song holds new meaning for me. I’ve recently become very disturbed by some of the behavior and language I’ve witnessed, displayed by people who call themselves Christian. This disturbance then turned into anger because of continuous questionable behavior. I didn’t know what to do about it, so I didn’t do anything, and harbored my feelings inside instead.

Then I thought of another song: Come Right Out and Say It. Both of these songs have something to do with speaking, but are sort of on opposing views. Though I originally had refrained myself from saying anything because it might come off as judgmental and putting myself in a self-righteous position, I now know I need to say something to my brothers and sisters in Christ, and not let it slide any longer.

Everything these past few days seems to fit together so perfectly that it’s got to be God trying to tell me something and not just coincidence. I’ve been trying to do my devotions more consistently with the help of “Our Journey” and it’s like, WHOA, God had this written down because he knew I was going to NEED it at this EXACT time. Starting October 1st, God was telling me that I really needed to go back to him and bring this hurt in my heart to him before I took any further action (not that I planned to). I understand that everyone sins and I knew I couldn’t just go and voice my thoughts because they would be hypocritical; I needed to right things in my relationship with God first. Then comes October 2nd. The one year reading was in Ephesians 5:1-16. It’s a loaded passage, but to speak of it in short, it talked about being imitators of Christ and to live pure lives that reflect him. Furthermore, there was a supplementary short passage from Romans 14:12-15. The translation in the devotional said it like this:

So then each of us will give an account of himself to God. Therefore let us not pass judgment on one another any longer, but rather decide never to put a stumbling block or hindrance in the way of a brother. I know and am persuaded in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself, but it is unclean for anyone who thinks it unclean. For if your brother is grieved by what you eat, you are no longer walking in love. By what you eat, do not destroy the one for whom Christ died.

I’m not really a confrontational person, so this’ll be a bit of a challenge, especially since s/he is my friend, but it’s something I know I need to say. My views may be a bit conservative, but sometimes I just really have to ask, “How does this make us any different from the rest of the world?” I know I’m being kind of vague here about the behavior I’m referring to, but am I wrong in feeling this way? Tell me, I can take it.

If you want to see the lyrics to the above mentioned songs, go to my lyrics page.

One thought on “Bite My Tongue…or…Come Right Out and Say It?

  1. each situation will call for different responses. But don’t fret! he will give you words to say when you need to say it.

Leave a Reply

